• Innsbruck Skyline (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • University of Innsbruck (© Universität Innsbruck)

  • Innsbruck by Night (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • Learn more about translation from internationally renowned scholars (© IATI)

  • Enjoy Innsbruck's unique mountain scenery (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • Exchange experiences with new colleagues (© Universität Innsbruck)

  • History at a stone's throw away from the venue (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • Aiming high with SummerTrans VII (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

Copyright 2019 - IATI e.V.

The now well-established international summer school SummerTrans, which was founded in Innsbruck in 2004 and offers top-class courses on translation and interpreting in many locations in Eastern and Western Europe (Innsbruck, Saarbrucken, Vienna, Breslau and Krasnodar, amongst others), will once again take place in Innsbruck from July 8th until July 17th 2019. Focusing on the theme of translation theory meets translation practice, the motto of SUMMERTRANS VIII is TRANSLATION IN THE DIGITAL AGE.

Organised by the Department of Translation Studies at the University of Innsbruck in Austria under the auspices of the IATI (International Academy for Translation and Interpreting) in addition to numerous sponsors, the summer school offers a broad variety of courses and workshops on new developments relating to theory and practice in translation and interpreting, from which participants can create their own individual programme. Accordingly, courses on the following topics, amongst others, will be offered in the course programme: utilization and application of corpora in translation, machine translation, pre-editing and post-editing, competency in translation, translation quality and translation methodology from today and tomorrow – between human, market and machine, fundamentals of translation policy, translation cultures in German-speaking countries, new findings in specific types of translation such as specialist translation, legal translation and terminology management, audio-visual translation, film dubbing and subtitling, literary translation, interpreting strategies and interpreting methodology, management of translation projects, requirements for the economically successful practice of translation and interpreting professions, in addition to many more topics.

SUMMERTRANS VIII is aimed at people who are engaged in the field of translation and interpreting:

  • Practicing translators and interpreters who keep pace with new translation technologies and developments in the translation industry, the translation market and in professional practice, and who want to train in working with translation tools and the changing conditions in the professional practice of translation.

  • Students in the discipline of translation / interpreting / translation studies who want to gain credit points for attending elective courses accredited by their home university.

  • Young academics in translation studies who want to: engage in discussion with renowned academics in the field of translation, present their own ideas and projects for discussion, make themselves known amongst the international scientific community in their field and establish modern projects and networks in the field of translation and translation studies.

     

 

Innsbruck Translation CentreUniversitas Austria

• Innsbruck Skyline (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • University of Innsbruck (© Universität Innsbruck)

  • Innsbruck by Night (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • Learn more about translation from internationally renowned scholars (© IATI)

  • Enjoy Innsbruck's unique mountain scenery (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • Exchange experiences with new colleagues (© Universität Innsbruck)

  • History at a stone's throw away from the venue (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

  • Aiming high with SummerTrans VII (© Innsbruck Tourismus)

Copyright 2019 - IATI e.V.

 

Die traditionsreiche, im Jahr 2004 in Innsbruck gegründete Internationale Sommerschule SummerTrans, die vielerorts in Europa in Ost und West (Innsbruck, Saarbrücken, Wien, Breslau, Krasnodar usw.) hochkarätige Kurse rund um Übersetzen und Dolmetschen unter dem Motto Translationstheorie trifft Translationspraxis anbietet, wird vom 08.07. bis 17.07.2019 als SUMMERTRANS VIII unter dem Motto: TRANSLATION IM DIGITALEN ZEITALTER  wieder in Innsbruckausgerichtet.

Veranstaltet vom 
Institut für Translationswissenschaft der Leopold Franzens Universität Innsbruck unter Schirmherrschaft der IATI (International Academy for Translation and Interpreting) sowie zahlreicher Sponsoren, bietet die Sommerschule Kurse und Workshops zu neuen Entwicklungen in Theorie und Praxis des Übersetzens und Dolmetschens in großer Vielfalt an, aus der sich alle TeilnehmerInnen ein individuelles Programm zusammenstellen können. So stehen unter anderem Kurse zu folgenden Themen auf dem Programm: Nutzen und Nutzung von Corpora in der Translation, Maschinelles Übersetzen, Pre- und Post-editing,  Translationskompetenz, Translationsqualität und Translationsdidaktik von heute und morgen – zwischen Mensch, Markt und Maschine, Grundlagen der Translationspolitik, Translationskulturen im deutschsprachigen Raum, Neue Erkenntnisse in spezifischen Translationsarten, wie Fachübersetzen, Rechtsübersetzen und Terminologiemanagement, Audiovisuelle Translation, Filmsynchronisation, Literarisches Übersetzen, Dolmetschstrategien und Dolmetschdidaktik, Management von Translationsprojekten, Desiderata für eine wirtschaftlich erfolgreiche Ausübung des Übersetzer- und Dolmetscherberufes etc..

 

Die SUMMERTRANS VIII richtet sich an alle, die sich mit Übersetzen und Dolmetschen beschäftigen:

 

  • praktizierende ÜbersetzerInnen und DolmetscherInnen, die mit den neuen Translationstechnologien und Entwicklungen in der Translationsindustrie, auf dem Translationsmarkt und in der Berufspraxis Schritt halten und den Umgang mit neuen Translationstool und sich wandelnden Bedingungen der Berufsausübung trainieren wollen;

  • Studierende der Fachrichtungen Übersetzen/Dolmetschen/Translationswissenschaft, die für den Besuch von Kursen ihrer Wahl Credit-Points für ihre Heimatuniversität erwerben wollen;

  • junge TranslationswissenschaftlerInnen, die mit renommierten Translatologen diskutieren, eigene Ideen und Projekte vor- und zur Diskussion stellen, sich mit der internationalen Scientific Community ihres Faches bekannt machen und moderne Projekte und Netzwerke im Bereich der Translation und Translationswissenschaft etablieren wollen.

Achtung!

Für die SummerTrans VIII gibt es neben der regulären Teilnahme auch die Möglichkeit, eine finanzielle Unterstützung für die Teilnahme zu bekommen. Dazu können Sie sich im Rahmen der Stipendienausschreibung um ein IATI-Stipendium bewerben, das einem Stipendiaten a) die Übernahme der Meldegebühr, b) einen Reisekostenzuschuss von ca. 250 EUR und c) ein entsprechendes Zertifikat über die Auszeichnung als IATI-Stipendiat gewährt. Antragsberechtigt sind Master- und Doktoratsstudenten. Bitte beachten Sie dazu den >>> Call for Candidates!

 

 

 

Innsbruck Translation CentreUniversitas Austria